What Is EASA?

Table of Contents



On July 15, 2002, the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union (EU) adopted REGULATION (EC) No 1592/2002 (subsequently replaced by EC No. 216/2008) establishing common rules for the EU in the field of civil aviation and establishing a new European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA). EASA officially opened for business on September 28, 2003. Under the regulation, European Aviation Safety Agency initially has responsibility for all design approvals, continued airworthiness, design organization approvals and environmental certification. They are also responsible for approving production, maintenance (repair station), and maintenance training organizations outside the EU. EASA also has a standardization and oversight function for all aviation safety certification activities of Member States. European Aviation Safety Agency also has responsibilities in the areas of operations, personnel licensing, aerodromes, air traffic management and air navigation services.

Where is EASA Headquarters located?

Easa HQ located in Cologne, Germany.

What are EASA’s certification regulations and requirements?

On September 24, 2003, the EU issued Commission Regulation (EC) No. 1702/2003 implementing their part 21 certification procedures. Also, European Aviation Safety Agency issued airworthiness codes based on the Joint Aviation Requirements. The airworthiness codes are called “certification specifications” or CS, e.g. CS 23, 25, etc. These texts are available on the EASA web site. Please check the EASA website for periodic updates to their regulations.

EASA Mission

European Aviation Safety Agency states that their mission is to promote the highest common standards of safety and environmental protection in civil aviation.


The agency’s responsibilities include:

  • Expert advice to the EU on the drafting new legislation;
  • Developing, implementing and monitoring safety rules, including inspections in the Member States;
  • Type-certification of aircraft and components, as well as the approval of organisations involved in the design, manufacture and maintenance of aeronautical products;
  • Certification of personnel and organisations involved in the operation of aircraft & providing pan-European ATM/ANS cervices;
  • Certification of organisations located outside the territory subject to the EC law and responsible for providing ATM/ANS services or ATCO training in the Member States where EC law applies;
  • Authorisation of third-country (non EU) operators;
  • Safety analysis and research, including publication of an Annual Safety Review.


Easaquestions provides online revision test for those who are pursuing their dream in this field. We will prepare you with the most up-to-date database for your study in a user-friendly environment. We have achieved many successful results based on the experience and feedback of recent exam candidates.

Thank you




Related Posts

B1.1 Course

Introduction The Basic Training B1.1 course will allow you to acquire all the basic knowledge required to obtain certification of Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) for

Aviation Exam

Introduction Aviation exam is an examination for becoming a pilot. This examination normally can be done through EASA. Before entering the examination, the candidates need


What Is EASA?

Introduction On July 15, 2002, the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union (EU) adopted REGULATION (EC) No 1592/2002 (subsequently replaced by EC